Bulli wins George Bass Marathon by a 30-second margin

The race that almost didn’t happen was decided by a matter of seconds on Sunday when Bulli took out the George Bass Marathon. 

The club had a two minute lead heading into the final leg, but eager fans at the finish line spotted the Moruya boat crossing the line first. 

If you didn’t have a stopwatch handy, you would have handed the prize to the Moruya club. 

However, Bulli didn’t count themselves out and paddled hard to finish just one minute and 50 seconds behind, taking a miniscule lead at the line to claim the win. 

Race director Andrew Edmunds said it was an impressive title defence from the Bulli club. 

“Bulli have gone back to back and had a strong marathon; taking out three legs, winning the Nick Dixon Trophy and the Curly Annabel Trophy,” he said. 

Moruya was awarded second on a count-back from Coogee after and extremely tight tussle for points. 

Edmunds also commended the strong Narooma masters outfit who retained their title. 

Meanwhile, the Pambula masters women proved a dominant force in the race to win all but one leg of the seven-day feature.

Pambula was the first and only club to enter an under 23s team. 

Known as “The Ladz”, the Pambula squad featured two pairs of brothers with the Love and Dickinson combinations, while two rowers from Tathra joined the ranks. 

Organisers commended the squad, who were all under the age of 21 and the group were quick to thank experienced sweep Stuart Manson, who guided the crew along the trip. 

Manson said the crew had been “rowing better with each passing day” and the future bode extremely well for his young crew. 

Results Day 7

Ski Race

6th Ed Gwynne 2 hours 27 minutes 08 seconds

5th Chris Ryan 2 hours 11 minutes 55 seconds

4th Andrew Stone 2 hours 3 minutes 40 seconds

3rd Craig Vipond 2 hours 1 minute 30 seconds

2nd Nick Ziviani 1 hour 54 minutes 26 seconds

1st Stew O’Regan 1 hours 53 minutes 03 seconds

Masters Women

4th Anglesea 2 hours 32 minutes 56 seconds

3rd Broulee Bats 2 hours 16 minutes 49 seconds

2nd Warriewood 2 hours 16 minutes 24 seconds

1st Pambula 2 hours 9 minutes 52 seconds

Open Women:

3rd Wollongong City 2 hours 14 minutes 53 seconds

2nd Broulee Capitals 2 hours 11 minutes 7 seconds

1st Moruya/Long Reef 2 hours 7 minutes 34 seconds

Masters Men

7th Pambula/Tathra Juniors 2 hours 21 minutesd 56 seconds

6th Bulli 2 hours 7 minutes, 08 seconds

5th Yeppoon 2 hours 11 seconds

4th Tallebudgera 1 hours 59 minutes 18 seconds

3rd Tathra 1 horus 58 minutes 10 seconds

2nd Narooma 1 hour 58 minutes 7 seconds

1st North Cronulla 1 hour 57 minutes 22 seconds

Open Men

5TH Pambula 2 hours 3 minutes 44 seconds

4th Long Reef 2 hours 5 seconds

3rd Bulli 1 hour 57 minutes 57 seconds

2nd Coogee 1 hour 56 minutes 36 seconds

1st Moruya Vikings 1 hour 56 minutes 11 seconds


Discuss "Swell finish for surfboats: George Bass day 7"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.