FSC showjumpers of the year crowned

THE Bemboka Show marked the final round of the Far South Coast Showjumper of the Year series. 

• Caitlin Reed riding Asta La Vista will be crowned the winner of the Graham Johnson Memorial at a presentation on March 29.

• Caitlin Reed riding Asta La Vista will be crowned the winner of the Graham Johnson Memorial at a presentation on March 29.

The series, run over the seven local shows on the Far South Coast, was initiated in 2009 after the death of local showjumping identities Keith Gordon and Graham Johnson. 

The Graham Johnson Memorial Junior Trophy was taken out by 11-year-old Caitlin Reid of Bermagui and her mount Asta La Vista who ended the competition streets ahead of her rivals.

Meanwhile, Brett Clarke claimed the Keith Gordon Memorial senior trophy after edging out Clint Beresford in the final event on his horse GH Blossom’s Little Brother. 

The two men were great contributors to the sport, both qualified showjumping judges and course designers and volunteers in every way possible to the local show circuit. 

In honour of their memory, the series dedicates memorial trophies to the two men, splitting into two divisions, the senior award in memory of Mr Gordon and the junior award in memory of Mr Johnson. 

The series proved to be a hotly contested event attracting more riders to more shows.

This year’s competition was huge with over 100 competitors winning points. 

However, the minor placings were very close and the top 10 place winners are encouraged to attend the presentation night as they will be acknowledged for their outstanding success over the series. 

These include Lane Clarke, Jess Davies, Alex Smith, Riley Whyman and Jess Clarke.

The Keith Gordon Memorial Senior Trophy once again went right down to the wire with the very last event determining the eventual winner. 

Clarke just edged out the series leader, Clint Beresford and his mount Emmaville Jitterbug, who had outstanding success at the three shows he attended. 

Other competitors in the top 10 were Tom Otton, Alisa Williams, Murray Otton, Amber Pollard, Sarah Dreverman and Neville Cuzner.

The presentation of this year’s awards will take place on March 29 at the Grand Hotel, Bega. 

The Bega Showjumping Club will host the awards and is very excited to announce this year’s guest speaker will be 1960 Olympic Games gold medallist Neale Lavis. 

Lavis won a team gold medal in eventing at the Olympics in Rome and a silver medal individually on a horse named Mirrabooka. 

He also participated in the 1964 Tokyo Olympic Games. 

 Lavis was inducted into the Sport Australia Hall of Fame in 1989, received a Medal of the Order of Australia in 1999 and an Australian Sports Medal in 2000.

All showjumping sponsors, supporters, organisers and competitors are invited to attend the presentation night including a buffet Chinese meal at 6.30pm. 

 The committee thanks everyone who cooperated in making this series a success, particularly Greg Grant who compiled the pointscore. 

If you would like to attend the dinner, contact Jeffrey Otton on 0409 460 413 by March 26.


Discuss "FSC showjumpers of the year crowned"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.