Bega Open a drawcard for golfers of Valley

Salver winners: The winning team for the Pat Ubrihien salver from Bega are Robyn Kilkelly, Maree Hergenhan, Maria Marr and Kerry Carter.
Salver winners: The winning team for the Pat Ubrihien salver from Bega are Robyn Kilkelly, Maree Hergenhan, Maria Marr and Kerry Carter.

Bega ladies golf launched the first day of the Bega Open tournament with a four-ball best-ball on Saturday. 

The winners of the scratch event were Maggie Hayes and Cheryl Rudneski from Bermagui with a very creditable 30 points.

The runners-up were Leanne Munt from Pambula-Merimbula and Tura's Mia Rawlinson- Cook with 27 points.

The handicap event was keenly contested with Erica Hansen and Janice Davidson from Eden with 40 points winning on a count-back from Bega pairing Cath Griffin and June Douch also on 40 and with 40 as well another Bega combination of Kerry Carter and Debbie McGufficke who had to settle for third.

Fourth went to Monica Cullen and Margaret Atkins with 37.

The Betta Electrical nearest the pin was won by Sylvia Donohoe from Narooma. Sylvia also went away with the cash from the golden shot on the ninth, with her drive being good enough to collect the purse.

The weather was kind to entrants on the second day of the competition with the tournament field playing in “perfect conditions”, organisers said. 

Club captain Wendy Hergenhan retained her Plevey's Pharmacy title against a very talented field with 78 off the stick.

In division one, the scratch winner was Maggie Hayes with 81 off the stick, from Tura’s Casey Cook with 82. Eden’s Erica Hansen took out the handicap with a net 78, from Queanbeyan 's Colleen Langi with 81.

In division two the scratch winner was Maree Hergenhan from Bega with 99 off the stick, with Sue Kelly from Eden just one shot behind with 99. The handicap was won by Bega's Maria Marr with 75 nett, followed by another Eden player in Yvonne Van Der Merwe with 79.

In division three the Bega girls played well with Margaret Atkins winning the scratch event with 111, from a very surprised Janelle Holdsworth. The handicap winner was Robyn Kilkelly with a 76 nett from Sue Behl and Mallacoota's Liz McKay.

The keenly contested golden shot event was won by Eden's Janice Davidson who put her drive early in the day, while no player either day was able to land the ball in the one metre circle on the 12th green to win the Cath Griffin sponsored event.

The team of three event, submitted by the players themselves saw Eden's Erica Hansen put in the best team of herself with Wendy Hergenhan (scoring the day’s best of nett 70) and Maggie Hayes.

The Pat Ubrihien salver was retained by Bega. The winning team without Wendy was Kerry Carter, Maree Hergenhan, Maria Marr and Robyn Kilkelly.

Officials thanked everyone who took part.