Four Roosters called in for All Stars

All Star: James Duncan is one of four players from the Bega Roosters in the Group 16 All Stars to be held in Batemans Bay Saturday.

All Star: James Duncan is one of four players from the Bega Roosters in the Group 16 All Stars to be held in Batemans Bay Saturday.

Four Bega Roosters have been named in the Group 16 All Stars fixture this weekend. 

Josh Shepherdson and James Duncan were named for the Group 16 roster, while brothers Declan and James Bower-Scott will line-up for the Indigenous All Stars. 

Group 16 chairman Allan Wilton said the annual fixture was now set to run as an under 23s fixture, following the lead set by CRL and the NRL development structure. 

“It’s all about opening pathways for these young guys who are coming through,” Wilton said. 

He said last week’s Nines draw served as a selection trial for the popular fixture with selectors working busily with an intent eye on the games. 

“Getting named in these teams is a real privilege, these are the lists that selectors feel represent some of the best talent in Group 16 right now,” he said. 

Declan will shine out of the centres for the Indigenous roster, while James sets up the plays in the halves combining with Batemans Bay’s Izaya Combo. 

Shepherdson will face off against his Bega team-mate in the opposite centre position, while James Duncan will add damaging runs through the middle off the interchange. 

The selected lists are markedly different to previous rosters in the same draw, but the change in format has made headway for up and coming players to shine through over their more-experienced counterparts. 

“There are a lot of the big names of our league who sit outside the selection criteria, we hope this shift allows some of the up and comers to show what they’re capable of moving forward,” Wilton said. 

However, a quick glance at both rosters shows a myriad of star players across two rounded line-ups. 

The round will also feature play from the under 16s and under 18s Greater Southern Stingrays teams in the third round of the country championships. 

The curtain-raiser to the main game will also be the group’s third full-contact women’s draw that has proven extremely popular in recent years. 

Ladies team lists were not available at time of print. 

Matches start at noon on Saturday at Batemans Bay’s Mackay Park.

Group 16 All Stars 

1. Toby Whitehead 2. Shaun Staples 3. Josh Sheperdsen 4. Brad Pocock  5. Zac Slater. 6. Blake Schafer 7. Astin Nunan 8. Luke Ingram 9. Jacob Hill 10. Grant Moon 11. Luc Hill 12. Jackson Standen 13. Richard Bensley 14. James Duncan 15. Alex Stewart 16. Jacob Zutt and 17. Robert Aratangi.

Indigenous All Stars

1. Albert Murray, 2. Yuin Campbell, 3. Reece Nye, 4. Declan Bower-Scott, 5. Jacob Bradbury, 6. Jamies Bower-Scott, 7. Izaya Combo, 8. Blayne Thomas, 9. Casey Jackson, 10. Corey Arnold, 11. Shaq Aldridge, 12. Dan Swane, 13. Baydan Payne, 14. Ashbee Reid, 15. Elijah Blair, 16. Austin Riley and 17. James Nye.