Bega High School Year 12 holds on to Adlide Cup

Since 2005 Year 12 and Year 11 students at Bega High School have challenged each other in the annual cricket match named after the late Bill Adlide, a teacher  at the school. 

Bill loved cricket and we celebrate his contribution as a HSIE teacher with this match.

       Year 11 won the toss and elected to bat. 

With the fall of a quick wicket, James Scott and Riley Willcox took the score to a healthy 43. 

However, Hayden DaSilva took two quick wickets  and a fine catch to have year 12/4 for  57. 

Of note was the bowling of Adam Braunack who took two wickets in his first ever cricket match, including a sharp caught and bowled. 

In addition young Jack Allen of Year 7 bowled   five mesmerising overs of leg spin. 

Corey Mitchell, Jackson Furini and Kel Evans each took late wickets. 

Year 11  reached a total of 84 runs.

The Year 12 chase started badly when Tim Lambert fell quickly to the bowling of captain Blake Grant. 

Opposing captain Ben Joyce and Hayden DaSilva rebuilt the innings in a solid 39 run partnership. 

Ben Joyce was out for 22 when he was caught spectacularly by wicketkeeper Aiden  Bailey  who dived to catch a ball that had ricocheted off Grant standing at silly cover. 

Chris Lawson and Corey Mitchell stabilised the innings and took their side well passed the Year 11 total. 

Young Kel Evans smashed some quick runs  and the Year 12 side finished with 129.

Hayden DaSilva was deservedly adjudged best on ground with his fine batting, bowling and general good sportsmanship.

Thanks to the boys for playing the game in such a good spirit and we look forward to next year’s match. 

On a final note we would like to thank the Jane McGrath Foundation who supplied pink stumps, caps and other gear. 

A wonderful reminder that cancer awareness is being  well promoted in our community.


Discuss "Bega High School Year 12 holds on to Adlide Cup"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.