Bega/Angledale Bulls' prize winners on show

THE Bega/Angledale Bulls Cricket Club capped off its excellent season with a presentation night last week. 

Club president John Dedman said winning the club championship “was the highlight” for the season. 

Dedman said he was extremely impressed with the performance from all the club’s teams. 

“The club was also a finalist in first grade and semi finalists in second and third grades,” Dedman said. 

“This was a huge improvement from last season when the club failed to make the semis in any senior grade.”

“There were three centuries scored in first grade in the season - a very rare feat. 

“They were Robbie Ringland's epic 118 not out in the semi final, Kel Evans, a talented 15-year-old who scored 112 to avoid any chance of an outright loss and a slogathon from Andrew Dedman of 134 in 52 balls.

“There were some excellent performances in the juniors,  however the under 14s and under 12s failed to make the final,” he said. 

 The club performances were lifted by the developing talents of its younger players.

Dedman said a number of key players joined club members enjoyed “improved training practices”.

Club Bega signed on as the new major sponsor this year and the junior and senior presentations were held together for the first time in Bulls history. 

The Bulls also thanked the club’s other sponsors for their continued support and helping the club run smoothly. 

Dedman said he was delighted to see the father-son combination of Dave and Jack Allen picking up awards. 

“Dave won the club’s highest award of Club Person of the Year, while his 12 year old son Jack  won the first grade best and fairest,” Dedman said. 

“Jack took 39 first grade wickets, bowling leg spin - a truly stunning performance for someone, so young” he said. 

Sam Hodder picked up the award for most runs in first grade, scoring 485 for the season. 

Alec Watson was named the players’ player for first grade, while Kel Evans picked up the most improved trophy. 

 Meanwhile in B grade, Riley Wilcox claimed two awards for most runs and the best batting average. 

Jay McWhinney was the club’s best bowler, while best and fairest went to Chris Taylor. 

Luka Hodder scored double honours with the most improved trophy and being named players’ player. 

C grade award winners included Braidon McIntosh for the most runs, best batting average, most wickets and best and fairest. 

Alec Caragher had the best bowling average, while Todd Goodworth was the most improved. 

Steve Noble claimed the players’ player trophy.  

Under 14 winners included Benjamin Imison for batting and Mitchell Jessop for his bowling. 

The players’ player was Ashlin Deighton-Smith, while most improved went to Jayden Heyhorn. 

Meanwhile in the under 12 Nicholas Fantham scored the best batter and players’ player honour. 

Most improved was Jonah Gear while the best bowler was Oscar Carrett. 

Janet King picked up an encouragement award. 

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide