Bega gun club on target at Tarraganda

THE Bega Gun Club’s Tarraganda Championship attracted a strong field of 32 in excellent conditions recently. 

The championship is tested over four 25 target rounds which challenges a variety of skills, including double barrel, single barrel, pointscore and continental. 

Round one opened with six AA graders taking aim in the double barrel. 

A grade’s Kevin Hurt stepped up to join the ranks and fired off a perfect 25/25. 

Melissa Crane and Dick McInnes led the way in B grade with 23/25 and C grade’s first round went to Jeffrey Crowe with 24/25.

Round two saw Simon Gloster (AA) shoot the only 25/25, with Phil Body, Chris Davis and Chris Rowland one target back on 24/25. 

In A grade Hurt and Ray Kearns shared the round on 23/25, while B grade’s Brian Smith showed the way on 23/25. 

C Grade was shared by Brian Moffitt and Geoff Beht with scores of 21/25.

David Crane and Chris Davis dropped a point to score 74/75 in the third round to stay at the top of AA.

Meanwhile, Ray Kearns and Kevin Hurt again featured in A grade, with Kearns scoring 72/75 to Hurt’s 71/75. 

Crane showed B grade how it was done once more, finishing with 69/75, five points ahead of Smith. 

Beht with a score of 70/75 picked up C grade.

With many grades wide open for an upset,  the final round of continental started.

In C grade Jeffrey Crowe scored 23/25, one target ahead of Rhonda White, John Gray  and Beht. 

Bert Deacon scored 23/25 to win B grade from Dick McInnes, Smith and John Walker on 22/25. 

Veteran, John Siede shot the lot to take B grade, with Tony Gray and Shane Platts one target further back. 

AA grade again produced some great shooting, with David Crane, Brody Walters, Stuart Bennett and Chris Davis all gaining the maximum.

Chris Davis, with a score of 148/150, was declared the winner of the championship sash and prize. 

Simon Gloster and Dave Crane returned all square so headed off to the trap for a shoot-off to decide first and second in AA grade. 

After a further 20 targets, Crane was declared the winner with a score of 177/180 to Gloster’s 175/180. 

Hurt took out A grade with a score of 142/150, with Platts runner-up on 137/150. 

Smith returned to the winner’s circle with a score of 132/150 to win B grade from McInnes on 131/150. 

In C grade Beht collected first with  score of 135/150 with Crowe second on 134/150. 

The veteran’s grade went to Kearns with a score of 141/150 with Siede second on 137/150. 

Melissa Crane took the ladies prize with a score of 133/150, with Robin Perkins on a 143/180 taking second after a shoot-off with Rhonda White. 

The Junior sash went to Brody Walters with a 141/150 score from James Body on 131/150.

The club’s next shoot will be on February 2 with a 50 target double barrel and 50 target pointscore. 

Practice is from 9am and competition starts at 10am. 

All sashes and prizes were presented by gun club president Phil Body.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide